The Parlour

London, 1891. Former members of a British Army infantry regiment are being murdered. The investigators must uncover the secrets which link an incident in war-torn Sudan to an ancient evil, and prevent it from rising again.

Moderator: HoneyDog

HoneyDog
Keeper
Keeper
Registered for: 7 years 5 months

The Parlour

Post by HoneyDog »

Hi Everyone, welcome to The Night of the Jackals, and thanks for playing. This is my first time to run a Gaslight scenario, and I hope you enjoy it.

This particular adventure really has no hook to speak of, so to avoid months of playing 'getting to know you' before the investigation starts, its better if your characters already know each other. As Mr. Handy has an ex-soldier character in mind, former army comrades would be an ideal link, especially as this game has military overtones. So please select an ex- or serving soldier.

It would also be preferable if your character was an officer, as some scenes will take place at a gentlemen's club. This means that your character will either be upper class, or at least middle class. If they are retired, please select an appropriate occupation.

The characters would have been members of the same regiment, which might have a bearing on their background. Infantry and some cavalry regiments recruited geographically (and still do), for example the Connaught Rangers recruited from the counties of western Ireland (Mayo, Galway etc.), so this would be reflected in the character's background. The supporting services such as the Royal Engineers or Service Corps would be more diversified however. if you can't decide on the unit, I'll select one for you.