Newbie looking for a game

Please post here if you are interested in playing in a game here on Play@YSDC
darchildre
Layman
Layman
Registered for: 10 years 9 months

Newbie looking for a game

Post by darchildre »

Hi, I'm new to both online gaming and CoC, but I've done tabletop gaming before and am a big fan of the Mythos. I'd prefer a non-modern setting but am open to anything.

Thanks!
Mr. Handy
Admin
Admin
Registered for: 17 years 6 months

Re: Newbie looking for a game

Post by Mr. Handy »

All of my games might be considered to be in the "modern" era, though only Zombie Apocalypse takes place in the 2010s. Space Oddity is set in 1969, and The Shadow Over Dunwich is in 1985. You'd be welcome to join any or all of them. The latter game is part of my Doctor Who/Call of Cthulhu campaign, which visits a variety of eras and settings, so later games in the campaign may be more to your liking.

Zombie Apocalypse is non-Mythos survival horror set in the near future, though it has its own similar mythology. Some of its influences are the movies of George Romero and Quentin Tarantino. It's been running for just over seven years, but we're still only on the second day of game time (a lot has been happening). There are numerous unclaimed characters, and you could even make one or two of your own. If you don't choose characters that were added prior to Chapter 7, there isn't all that much catching up you'll need to do. You may play multiple characters. In fact, this is recommended, as the game is highly lethal.

Space Oddity is set in 1969 Philadelphia. It is inspired by Life on Mars/Ashes to Ashes. It's been running for four years and a few months. Currently there are only three active players, but there are plenty of abandoned characters waiting to be taken over, or you could create your own instead.